127 residents urge Pelham voters to reject capital reserve proposition

To the editor:

We are writing to encourage the community to vote “no” to proposition 2 at the May 17 board of education election. This proposition would allow the district to create a new capital-reserve savings account in which it could deposit up to $10 million in past and future budget surpluses. It would effectively be an interest-free loan from taxpayers and allow the district to continue to maximize the tax levy while running significant surpluses.

It is important to note that we all support continued investment in schools, infrastructure and our children. That said, we believe our district already has significant flexibility to fund its needs given it has some of the largest savings of any district in Westchester County, and a community that has consistently exhibited support for any necessary educational and infrastructure needs. For reference, the district currently has a savings account of $21 million and an aggregated surplus of $8 million since 2014.

Lastly, but equally important, the $5 million surplus we accumulated during the 2020 and 2021 school closures could be transferred into this new capital reserve should it be created, which could greatly reduce the district’s financial flexibility to address any necessary Covid-19 recovery spending in the future. With all this in mind, we will be voting no on proposition 2 for the creation of the capital reserve, and we encourage you all to do so as well.

Scott Wolfgang

12 Sherwood Ave.

along with:

Albert DeSimone

Alexander Rende

Alexandra Bongo

Ann Rende

Bobby Courtien

Brandon Dammerman

Brian D. Hughes

Brian Ziemer

Carla Caccavale

Carolyn Frost

Carrie Liaskos

Chase D’Agostino

Chris Courtien

Chris Gallagher

Chris Russo

Clayton Bushong

Connie Carmody

Conrad Marrero

Cristina Chianese

Daniel Gretz

Daniel Nicastri

David Frost

David Hayes

Diana Barbieri

Diane Lanaro

Dierdre Clifford

Dina Mangiafridda

Dolores Tesoro

Donna Gammon

Edward Fabiani Jr

Emily Meehan

Frances Candela

Frank A. Barbieri

Fresia Kenny

George Baptista

Gina Flynn

Greg Morselli

Greg Silver

Gregory S. Coleman

Harry Tsavaris

Hope Shanahan

Hyde Harper

Janet Vitale

Jared Rey

Jason Feldman

Jason Fuqua

Jeffrey Bonanno

Jennifer Ziemer

Jessica Diamond

Jessica Russo

Jessyka Calzolaio

Joann Sannella

Joanne Case

Joe Dodaro

John Chianese

John De Chiaro

John Della Valle

John Fox

John Royce

Joseph Vitarello

Kate Fuqua

Katy Krassner

Kevin McGrath

Kimberly Mitrione

Kristina Aiello

Kristen Rice

Kristin DeSimone

Lauren DiDomenico

Lawrence Mele

Lisa Duffy

Lisa Harper

Lisa Tsavaris

Louis Bongo

Lou Marcellino

Madeleine Russo

Maria Dodaro

Maria L’Heureux

Mary Beth Mullins

Mary Gallagher

Matthew Pascual

Mehmet Albulak

Meredith Shur

Michael Flynn

Michael Reilly

Michael Tesoro

Michelle Marcellino

Michelle Matyko

Michelle Silver

Natalie Marrero

Nancy Reilly

Noam Gretz

Nicholas Lanaro

Nicholas Parisi

Pamela Argiriadi

Paul DiDomenico

Paul Duffy

Paul Reynolds

Paul Vitale

Paula Frezzo

Peter Liaskos

Regina Gallagher

Richard Gorski

Rita McLaughlin

Rob McGovern

Robert Parisi

Sal Russo

Samantha Vitarello

Sean Meehan

Shalini Vijayan

Stephanie Royce

Steve Shekane

Steven Aiello

Tanya D’Agostino

Terry Carmody

Theresa Bunyan

Theresa Pondok

Thomas Barbieri

Tim Case

Tracy Shekane

Vincenzo Mangiafridda

Vizu Vijayan

Will Treves

William Kenny

William Shanahan

Yasmin Jorge