Republican, Democratic candidates will battle for two town council seats in fall elections

In local elections this fall, the Republicans and Democrats will contest two town council seats, while only the GOP is running candidates for three other town posts and only the Democrats have a slate for Village of Pelham positions on the ballot.

Incumbent town Councilwoman Rae Syzmanski and Tade Reen are running on the Republican line, facing Democrats Solange Bitol Hansen and Kara McLoughlin. Current GOP town board member Timothy Case is not seeking reelection. 

The town and village slates were provided by Pelham Democratic Committee Chairwoman Marin Zielinski and Pelham Republican Committee Chairman Joe Solimine Sr.

Town Supervisor Dan McLaughlin, Town Clerk Antoinette Clemente and Receiver of Taxes Catherine Mazzaro, all Republicans, are running for reelection without Democratic opposition. Town board members and the receiver of taxes serve four year terms; the supervisor and town clerk posts are on the ballot every two years.

In 2019, Democrats Kristen Burke and Maura Curtin won the other two seats on the town council, breaking the GOP’s long-running hold the town’s legislative body.

In the Village of Pelham, Democratic Mayor Chance Mullen is running for reelection alongside trustees Mike Carpenter and Lisa Hill-Ries and newcomer Donald Otondi, all without GOP opposition. Trustee Ariel Spira-Cohen is stepping down from the board. 

This is the second village election to be held in November after a 2019 referendum approved moving the date from March. Hanan Kamal Eldahry, Kim McGreal and Russell Solomon ran unopposed that year and make up the balance of the all-Democratic village board. All terms are two years for the seven seats on the board of trustees.