Albright, Bushong promoted at Picture House as theater seeks to expand offerings post pandemic

The Picture House Regional Film Center promoted Director of Education Francile Albright to deputy director, while Programming Director Clayton Bushong’s role was expanded to include business development, as the theater seeks to expand its offerings following the Covid-19 closure. 

“The Picture House is stronger than ever despite the challenges of the last year and a half,” TPH President and Executive Director Laura deBuys said in a press release on Wednesday. “We’re in the middle of celebrating our centennial and ensuring our next 100 years. In their new roles, Francile and Clay will focus on building stability for that second century.”

In her new position, Albright will continue to oversee the Picture House’s educational programs in the theater and with schools and community groups, while taking the lead role on special events management and working with deBuys on fundraising and strategy, the release said. She will also become more involved with the development of new partnerships and raising awareness for the theater. 

In overseeing business development, “Bushong will continue to diversify the organization’s cultural offerings and add new dynamic programming such as live performance, spoken word, music and more,” the release said.

The move comes after the extended closure of the theater and changes in the film industry—the shift of some movie releases to streaming from theatrical release—forced the Picture House to expand its programming to reach audiences online and off in new ways.

“In addition to being a film lover, Clayton is an entrepreneur at heart,” said deBuys. “He’ll keep our screens and stage humming while he explores opportunities and partnerships that will build the organization’s financial stability.”

“As the Picture House builds back and moves toward a sustainable and successful second century, the board of directors and I are so pleased to have them both take on these new challenges,” said Board Chairwoman Katy Loria.